Dascylium

Magians performing a sacrifice

Magians performing a sacrifice

Dascylium (satellite photo), situated to the southeast of Lake Dascylitis on a bank of a river, was the capital of the Persian satrapy of Hellespontine Phrygia and the residence of the Pharnacid dynasty (Artabazus, Pharnabazus, Pharnaces, Pharnabazus, Ariobarzanes, and Artabazus), until it was captured by Parmenion, a general of Alexander the Great, after the battle of the Granicus (334). The site is famous for several fifth-century reliefs, showing Persian Magians performing sacrifices; they are now among the (many) highlights of the Arkeoloji Müzesi of Istanbul.

My new page is here. As I already announced, I am moving several pages of my website; I also moved Shushthar to a new location – so now there’s 121 pages left to do.

Leave a comment