Roman Military History

Although nothing seems to change at LacusCurtius and Livius.org, that’s not really true. At the first site, Bill Thayer is doing a lot of proofreading, while at the second site, I have corrected a lot of minor and major factual errors. One of these had been in my inbox for nine months, because I am occupied with many other things, including my book on the “parting of ways” between Judaism and Christianity.

I am also trying to have the website converted to better software. The trouble is that I neither have sufficient time to do it myself nor €12,000 to outsource it. If someone has a brilliant plan, drop me a line.

Still, we’re adding things, although it’s mostly Bill, who is adding all kind of ancient texts to the “Roman Military History” section of LacusCurtius. You will find an English translation of Caesar’s Civil Wars and Hirtius’ Alexandrine War (Latin/English), African War (Latin/English), and Spanish War (Latin/English). The Gallic War will be there too, but not yet. Also available: Onasander, The General (Greek/English) and Aeneas Tacticus (Greek/English).

3 Responses to Roman Military History

  1. Great to read about the additions to the Roman Military section – I’m going to recommend this section to my students, so many of them are looking for primary sources on this topic! Thanks so much!

  2. Jonah,

    Regarding this comment of yours: “I am also trying to have the website converted to better software. The trouble is that I neither have sufficient time to do it myself nor €12,000 to outsource it. If someone has a brilliant plan, drop me a line.”

    Although your natural politeness may not allow such a thing, but if you would like some small volunteer work, it’s possible I might be of some minor help, so I am dropping you “a line.” I may not be of any use, but drop me a line anyway.

  3. Thanks for your kind offer, but at the moment, money is the issue. Nevertheless, your reply is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 329 other followers

