Apollodorus of Damascus

Apollodorus (?) (Glyptothek, Munich)

I am blessed because I am in the position to travel widely. Usually, I have a camera with me, and sometimes, it happens that I can combine things. Webpages based on these combinations, I find most satisfying.

Take Apollodorus of Damascus. His story is online at LacusCurtius (here), I could take a photo of his possible portrait is in the Munchen Glyptothek, and I found an inscription in the garden of the Damascus Archaeological Museum. The forum he built in Rome is among the best known monument of the city. The only thing I’ve never seen is the ruin of his famous bridge, but it is represented on the Column of Trajan (casts in the Victoria and Albert Museum and in the Museo nazionale della civiltĂ  romana), and it is represented on coins. And I put everything together here.

2 Responses to Apollodorus of Damascus

  1. charleyjk4 says:

    I am sure that when you speak of his famous bridge, you are referring to the one he built over the Danube for Trajan in his campaign against the Dacians. Apollodorus fell out with Hadrian because of a snide comment he made about Hadrian’s architectural prowess;”Go,draw your pumpkins”.He said. That comment cost him his life.

  2. Yup, it’s that bridge.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 327 other followers

