Moving Livius.Org (9)

A reconstructed Roman watchtower near Rainau.

A reconstructed Roman watchtower near Rainau.

As I already announced, I am moving several pages of my website. Today, I transferred eleven articles from their original sites and gave them new URLs. Firstly, three sites along the Raetian limes: Rainau, Schwäbisch Gmünd-Schirenhof, and Schwäbisch Gmünd-Freimühle. A bit more to the north, the river Lippe, along which the Romans invaded Germania, until they were defeated at Kalkriese (the Teutoburg Forest).

Four minor sites from Greece: Aegae (Macedonian royal tombs), Tempe, Rion and Antirion, and finally the Road of Skiron. From Turkey: Pessinus, once the main sanctuary of Cybele. From the Netherlands: Rijswijk-De Bult.

When I started with this little project, I had to do about 340 pages. Right now, it’s still 204 pages, about two thirds. It looks as if I am making rapid progress, but so far, I have only done the smallest pages, with only a couple of photos. Besides, there are many pages that need revision. So I think Bill was right when he said that I would be busy until May 22, 2010.

One Response to Moving Livius.Org (9)

  1. Bill Thayer says:

    Would you believe Aegae is mentioned in the month’s favorite writer, Diodorus? Yes, I guess you would; and now linked, of course. I wonder how many of us are descended from Alexander the Great? With those bones of Alexander IV and Philip (III/II: in either case, related to him) we may be able to get a good idea of Alexander’s own DNA —

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers

